If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Steamy romantic fantasy Webtoon SubZero by JunePrrr is coming to comic books this fall

3 million people read SubZero online - and now its coming to comic stores & bookstores.

SubZero Vol. 1
Image credit: Juneprrr (Oni Press)

Popverse's top stories of the day


The hit webtoon sensation SubZero is finally coming out in a format for those who prefer to read their comics in print (or those that just want a physical copy to themselves).

SubZero Vol. 1
Image credit: Juneprrr (Oni Press)

Created by the amazing accountant-turned-cartoonist Junepurrr, the romance fantasy series SubZero is one of the most popular comics on the Webtoon platform - with over 3 million subscribers, and to date over 375 million views.

“Dragons, love triangles, danger, and magic combine in this action-packed romance fantasy graphic novel,” says Oni Press' senior editor Grace Scheipeter. "SubZero is the perfect graphic novel for fans of Lore Olympus, Fourth Wing, A Court of Thorns and Roses, and My Dear Cold-Blooded King. Kyro and Clove’s enemies-to-lovers romance edges on steamy in this first volume, with more romantic tension and encounters to come!"

Oni Press has signed on as the print publisher of SubZero, with a first volume to include the first 26 episodes of the online comic - including the '0' episode, as well as "all-new, never-before-published back matter material.".

"SubZero is a love letter to fantasy stories, palace dramas and romance, created as an escape during a very low period in my life,” says Junepurrr in the announcement. “While the characters possess fantastical Dragon powers, the story deals with themes of duty, sacrifice, and the true strength that lies beneath a veil of fangs and scales. It is my greatest hope that readers of SubZero will find the escape and excitement I felt when I created it."

SubZero Vol. 1 is due out September 25, 2024.

Want to know what's coming up next in pop culture? Check out our guides to upcoming movies, upcoming TV shows, upcoming comics, and upcoming comic conventions. If you're looking for specific franchises or genres, we have all the upcoming MCU, upcoming Star Wars, upcoming Star Trek, and upcoming DC movies & TV for you. If you're a fan of superheroes and not specific to just Marvel or DC, we have overall guides to all the upcoming superhero movies and upcoming superhero TV shows (and new seasons) as well.

Follow Popverse for upcoming event coverage and news

Let Popverse be your tour guide through the wilderness of pop culture

Sign in and let us help you find your new favorite thing.

Related topics
About the Author
Chris Arrant avatar

Chris Arrant

Editor-in-Chief

Chris Arrant is the Popverse's Editor-in-Chief. He has written about pop culture for USA Today, Life, Entertainment Weekly, Publisher's Weekly, Marvel, Newsarama, CBR, and more. He has acted as a judge for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, the Harvey Awards, and the Stan Lee Awards. (He/him)

Comments