Skip to main content

Everything we know about Demon Slayer season 3: Release date, trailer and more

Get ready for Tanjiro and Nezuko's return in Demon Slayer season 3

Key artwork for Demon Slayer season 3 showing Tanjiro and other characters
Image credit: Ufotable, Crunchyroll

Demon Slayer season 3 is one of the biggest anime releases of 2023. And the latest installment of Ufotable's smash hit show is almost upon us, with the highly anticipated release date fast approaching.

Demon Slayer season 3 adapts the Swordsmith Village Arc and kicks off with a one-hour season premiere. To help you prepare for the eagerly awaited return of Tanjiro and co we've rounded up everything you need to know about the new season.

We've got details on the release date and release time for Demon Slayer season 3, the episode count, what to expect from the Swordsmith Village Arc and more.

What is the Demon Slayer season 3 release date?

Image taken from Demon Slayer season 3 showing Tanjiro deep in thought.
Image credit: Ufotable Twitter

It has been confirmed that the Demon Slayer season 3 release date is Sunday April 9, 2023.

The international release plans were shrouded in a mystery until Friday March 31, 2023 when Crunchyroll confirmed it had the exclusive streaming rights to the Swordsmith Village Arc anime in Europe and America.

Demon Slayer season 3 episode 1 will be available on Crunchyroll on the same day that it airs on Japanese TVs, and the anime streaming service will simulcast new episodes each week in every region it's available.

What is the Demon Slayer episode 1 release time?

In a trailer released at the start of March, Ufotable confirmed that the first episode of season 3 will air in Japan at 11:15pm JST on Sunday April 9, 2023.

For those in other regions that's 7:15am PDT, 10:15am EDT, 3:15pm BST and 4:15pm CEST.

While we have known for a while exactly when Demon Slayer season 3 debuts in Japan, Crunchyroll only confirmed the time episode 1 would be added to its library internationally a few days before its release date.

In the run-up to Easter Crunchyroll announced Demon Slayer season 3 episode 1 will be available to watch between 10:45am and 11:30am PDT .

For those in other regions that's between 1:45pm and 2:30pm EDT, 6:45pm and 7:30pm BST and 7:45pm and 8:30pm CEST.

New episodes of simulcast shows are added to Crunchyroll on the same day that its shown for the first time on Japanese TVs - but typically arrive on the streaming service a little bit after its original air time.

When Demon Slayer season 3 arrives on Crunchyroll on Sunday April 9, 2023 it will be available with its original Japanese voice acting and subtitles in English, Spanish, Castilian, Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Arabic, Russian and Hindi. Details on the dubbed versions are yet to be announced.

Has a Demon Slayer season 3 trailer been released?

In the run-up to the Demon Slayer season 3 release date, a few trailers have been released. You can watch an English subtitled version of the latest promo below.

Watch on YouTube

What is Demon Slayer season 3 about?

Demon Slayer season 3 adapts the Swordsmith Village Arc of the manga and takes place shortly after the events of the Entertainment District Arc - which was adapted for season 2.

The Swordsmith Village Arc is the ninth overall arc of the manga. It sees Tanjiro head to a village of swordsmiths so he can repair his damaged sword. While he's waiting for his sword to be repaired, enemies close in - including a fearsome foe who can split into four separate bodies and regenerate almost immediately.

What is the Demon Slayer season 3 episode count?

Nezuko with a happy expression in the Demon Slayer season 3 anime.
Image credit: Ufotable

An official episode count for Demon Slayer season 3 hasn't been revealed by Ufotable or Crunchyroll. All we know for certain is that the season premiere will be an hour long, which is half as long as the Mugen Train movie.

However, looking at the source material we can get a good idea of how many episodes Demon Slayer season 3 will be.

The Swordsmith Village Arc is covered in chapters 98 to 127 of the manga, so 30 chapters in total. Whereas the previous arc, the Entertainment District Arc, was told in chapters 70 to 97 of the manga and is 28 chapters in total.

It took the anime 11 episodes to adapt the Entertainment District Arc. And seeing as the Swordsmith Village Arc is a few chapters more in the manga we'd expect a similar episode count for Demon Slayer season 3 if not longer.

Will there be a Demon Slayer season 4?

Image showing Tanjiro mid battle in the Demon Slayer season 3 anime.
Image credit: Ufotable

Demon Slayer season 4 hasn't been officially confirmed by Ufotable. However, considering there is still more source material left to adapt, and how popular the anime is, it seems virtually guaranteed.

In total there are 11 arcs in the Demon Slayer manga. Once season 3 airs, nine of those arcs will have been adapted, which just leaves two more arcs to adapt before the Demon Slayer story ends.

Where can I watch Demon Slayer?

Crunchyroll is the only place you'll be able to watch Demon Slayer season 3. The leading anime streaming service will be simulcasting the new season of Demon Slayer, so you'll be able to watch it on the same day that it airs on Japanese TVs. Crunchyroll also has Demon Slayer season 1 and season 2 in its library and the smash hit Mugen Train movie.

To watch Demon Slayer season 3 and other simulcast shows on Crunchyroll you'll need to sign up for a paid membership. Crunchyroll Premium plans begin from $7.99 a month and offers access to tens of thousands of anime episodes from popular shows like Chainsaw Man, Spy x Family and Attack on Titan.

You can also watch the first three episodes of Demon Slayer for free with Crunchyroll's ad-supported viewing. Simply head to the Demon Slayer Crunchyroll page and choose the episode you want to watch for free.

While Crunchyroll is the only place you can watch Demon Slayer season 3 in the US, you can catch up on past episodes with other services.

Tanjiro with a fierce look on his face in the Demon Slayer season 3 trailer.
Image credit: Ufotable

Netflix US, Hulu and Funimation all have past episodes of Demon Slayer in its library. Both Hulu and Funimation Premium Plus are priced from $7.99 a month while Netflix is available from $6.99 a month for the Basic with Ads plan.


Looking for more Demon Slayer content? Then head to our Demon Slayer watch order guide so you can find out how to watch the hit anime in the right order. For help getting into other animes visit our Dragon Ball watch order, One Piece watch order and Sailor Moon watch order pages.