Skip to main content

One Punch Man watch order: How to watch the complete One Punch Man anime in order

What's the matter? You don't like udon?

One Punch Man anime
Image credit: VIZ Media

While fans wait for season 3 of One Punch Man to arrive after a longer-than-usual break, you might be looking to finally get into the famous anime series or to expand Saitama's story by watching the additional episodes released on top of the two regular seasons. Regardless of what you're exactly looking for, we've got everything covered in this guide.

One Punch Man, both One and Yusuke Murata's manga and the anime, follow Saitama, a unique hero in a world full of superhuman beings. He can defeat enemies with a single punch, but gets no respect from anyone, since the world is filled with heroes and villains. As a result, he's bored, but nevertheless keeps looking for stronger opponents. That's the starting point of the series. Read on below to find out the recommended watch orders if you want to watch the ongoing anime series:

How to watch One Punch Man in order (complete overview):

  • One Punch Man season 1: 12 episodes
  • One Punch Man season 1 specials: 6 episodes that take place in-between the events of season 1
  • One Punch Man: Road To Hero: a special episode which takes place before season 1
  • One Punch Man season 2 commemorative special: a recap of season 1 (skippable)
  • One Punch Man season 2: 12 episodes
  • One Punch Man season 2 specials: 6 episodes that take place in-between the events of season 2

This the most straightforward way to watch One Punch Man, as it follows the order of release and therefore doesn't spoil anything ahead of time. This was the intended watch order despite it not being in chronological order.

How to watch One Punch Man in chronological order (two volumes):

Season 1

  • Episodes 1 and 2
  • Special one: 'The Shadow That Snuck Up Too Close'
  • Episode 3
  • Special two: 'The Disciple Who Is An Extremely Poor Talker'
  • Episodes 4 and 5
  • Special three: 'The Too Complicated Ninja'
  • Episodes 6 and 7
  • Special four: 'The Overly Insistent Bang'
  • Episodes 8 and 9
  • Special five: 'The Sisters Who Have Too Much Going On'
  • Episodes 10 to 12
  • Special six: 'The Murder Case That Was Too Impossible'
  • One Punch Man: Road To Hero

Season 2

  • Special one: 'Saitama And The Mediocre Abilities Users'
  • Special two: 'Old Dudes And Fishing'
  • Episodes 1 and 2
  • Special three: 'Genos And Memory Loss'
  • Special four: 'Games And Rivals'
  • Episode 3
  • Special five: 'Puri Puri Prisoner And The Escaped Prisoners'
  • Episodes 4 to 12
  • Special six: 'The Zombieman Murder Case Two'

As you can see, the order gets more unpredictable as you get to season 2 and its special episodes, but that's the order that makes the most chronological sense. Yes, watching the Road To Hero prequel after season 1 is recommended even when you're tackling everything else in order.

If you follow any of the two watch orders we've shared, you should be ready for season 3 whenever it hits. Let's hope the wait doesn't go on for much longer.

Looking to get into more legendary anime series on top of One Punch Man? You'll likely want to check out our guides to Attack on Titan, Naruto, and One Piece, as things can get complicated and confusing really fast.

Featured events