Skip to main content

Bridgerton books reading order: What order to read (or re-read) all the books that inspired the Netflix hit

All the angst without the agonizing wait for a new season.

Image credit: Netflix

Popverse's top stories of the day

If the lengthy wait for the next episodes of Bridgerton is proving too much for you, there are just two options available to you. You could, as we often do just before a new season of the Netflix hit comes out, binge all the existing episodes, or you could read the books that inspired the show. Just remember that things happen in a slightly different order for the Bridgerton books.

The Bridgerton Netflix series is based on the eight-book romance series by Julia Quinn. However, the show deviates from the source material in several ways that might surprise you, including the order in which they are adapting the books. That is because season three skipped ahead to book four of the series to give us the resolution to Colin and Penelope’s story we so desperately needed.

The Bridgerson series in order

However, we wouldn’t recommend reading the books out of order simply because they build on each other so much. The best reading order for the Bridgerton books is the order they were released:

In addition to the mainline Bridgerton series of books, there is also the Rokesby series. These four books serve as prequels to the events in the main series. There are plenty of familiar characters that show up, but it isn't necessary to read them to understand the events of the Bridgerton book series.

The Rokesby series consists of:

Of these novels, only The Duke and I (season one), The Viscount Who Loved Me (season two), and Romancing Mister Bridgerton (season three) have been adapted for the Netflix Bridgerton series. That leaves a lot more angst, drama, and sexy people doing sexy things for us to enjoy over the coming years.

Is it OK to read the Bridgerton books out of order?

While we wouldn't deprive you of reading it in the order you desire, the recommended way to read Bridgerton is in the above release order. However if you are like us and reading the books after watching the show, you can binge the Bridgerton books to spoil yourself on what's to come in the TV show.

Why did Netflix skip Benedict's story from book 3, An Offer from a Gentleman?

Netflix chose to skip Bridgerton book 3, An Offer from a Gentleman, because, as the showrunner Jess Brownel told Variety, "[it] really [feels] like it's Colin and Penelope's time.” For us gentle readers, one hopes the romance between Benedict Bridgerton and Sophie Beckett will blossom in the future.

Is the Bridgerton book series spicy?

The core storylines of the Bridgerton TV shows follows the Bridgerton books faily closely, however besides the fashion and diversity embracing more modernity - the TV show is also more adult. If you can handle the Bridgerton show, you'll be fine with the Bridgertoon books - unless you're expecting a more Rated-R version of the Bridgertons' story.

How many total Bridgerton books are there?

To date there are 16 Bridgerton books. That is comprised of the eight core Bridgerton books, two anthologies, the four-part Rokesby prequels, the special The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After, and the Queen Charlotte prequel.

Whether its the bane of your existence or the object of all your desires (or both), Bridgerton is back. Read all our spoiler-y thoughts on Bridgerton season 3 here, and then delight at a guide to how to watch all of Bridgerton (and the spinoff), how to read the Bridgerton books (all 16 of them!), an our exclusive interview with the show's costume designer John Glaser, as well as some recommended reads for all Bridgerton fans.

Featured events